Tourist Attractions

Vaudreuil-Dorion is a festive city offering many events as well as a variety of activities at historic sites. It’s a must-see!

Festivities

Each year, the City kicks off the summer by reliving its origins as a seigneury of New France. Later it turns into a big circus in a festival coinciding with the celebrations around Québec's Fête nationale. In winter, there are lots of activities at Parc de la Maison-Valois. Come join the party!

Seigeuriales

26th anniversary
June 7 to 10, 2018

Les Seigneuriales, a huge celebration held in the historic quarter of Vaudreuil, recreates a centuries-old French tradition called “la plantation du Mai”—similar to raising the maypole—which serves as the central element in a whole series of family-friendly activities and events.

seigneuriales.com

Festival de cirque

June 22, 23 and 24, 2018

The Festival de cirque, created in 2005, was the first circus festival in Québec. It has grown immensely popular in its 13 years of existence, with more than 45,000 people attending in 2016. For a few days, Rue Jeannotte comes alive with a multitude of free circus-related activities: a carnival, a cabaret area and much more. Festive, participatory and family-friendly!

festivaldecirque.com

Fête nationale festivities

June 23, 2018

Mozaïk Parade

Since 2011, a huge citizens’ parade has filled Rue Bourget and Avenue Saint-Charles to celebrate Québec's Fête nationale on June 23. For months beforehand, professional artists and citizens’ groups work to put together a parade that will impress the thousands of spectators with music, dance, impressive floats and, above all, a lot of fun.

Fireworks

At nightfall, watch the legendary fireworks at Parc Paul-Gérin-Lajoie across from the campus of Cité-des-Jeunes.

Fête nationale show

After the fireworks, head over to the Festival de cirque cabaret area to enjoy the exciting entertainers we have lined up for you.

Feux et flocons (Fire and ice)

Each February, the City of Vaudreuil-Dorion invites people to Parc de la Maison-Valois for a magical winter evening featuring music, activities, ice-skating and fireworks. Hot beverages and treats are available ($).

Plaisirs d’hiver (Winter delights)

In 2017, Journée des neiges was replaced by Plaisirs d’hiver, a series of activities at Parc de la Maison-Valois on Sunday afternoons.

Heritage

Vaudreuil-Dorion has several tourist attractions showcasing its heritage. By visiting these sites, you’ll learn more about the history of the city and discover the architectural beauty of its neighbourhoods. They’ll take you right into the heart of our city’s history.

Maison Trestler (1798)

Historic monument

85 Chemin de la Commune
Vaudreuil-Dorion J7V 2C3
450-455-6290
trestler.qc.ca

This magnificent stone house is reminiscent of the beginnings of trade in the seigneury of Vaudreuil. For over 100 years it was home to the descendants of Jean-Joseph Trestler, a German immigrant who came to the New World seeking fame and fortune.

Activities:

  • Permanent exhibit and 11-stop walk-through tour where you can discover the history of the house and its inhabitants.
  • In summer, discover the Maison Trestler tearoom, which opens onto a magnificent terrace in an enchanting and relaxing setting.
  • Concerts

Maison Valois (1796)

331 Saint-Charles
Vaudreuil-Dorion  J7V 2L6
450-455-3371, option 6

Maison Valois is a heritage building located in the middle of a park by the same name. It serves as the municipal arts and culture centre.

Musée régional de Vaudreuil-Soulanges (1859)

Historic monument

431 Saint-Charles
Vaudreuil-Dorion J7V 2N3
450-455-2092
mrvs.qc.ca

This former boys’ school, located in Old Vaudreuil, was built in 1859 and converted into a regional museum in 1955. In fact, it was one of the first rural museums in Québec. It houses many permanent and temporary exhibits. Today, the museum has a magnificent collection of more than 8,000 artefacts from the daily lives of craftsmen and artists—not only traditional instruments and tools, but also objects and works of art illustrating life in the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries. Each year it welcomes 18,000 visitors and presents more than 50 events ranging from exhibits to concerts and workshops.

Église Saint-Michel de Vaudreuil (1787)

Historic monument

414 Saint-Charles
Vaudreuil-Dorion J7V 2N3
Presbytère St-Michel de Vaudreuil
450-455-4282
paroisses-v-d.com

Construction of this beautiful church began in 1783 and was completed in 1787. It was designated a historical monument by the Government of Québec in 1957. The building, whose architecture is inspired by French tradition, has not only survived the centuries but has remained in excellent condition and preserved its authenticity. The richness of its ornamentation sets it apart from other historic buildings. Works by famous sculptors and painters such as Liébert, Quevillon, Achim, Berczy and Meloche decorate the choir, the vault and the nave. Its remarkable acoustics also make it an outstanding venue for classical and pop concerts.

Maison Félix-Leclerc de Vaudreuil

Former house of renowned Québec poet and songwriter Félix Leclerc

186 de l'Anse
Vaudreuil-Dorion J7V 8P3
450-514-2840
maisonfelixleclerc.org
lamezafelix.org

This blue-shuttered farmhouse on Lac des Deux-Montagnes, more than a century old, was built by the Denis family and purchased by Félix Leclerc in 1956. It’s surrounded by farm outbuildings, including a barn which he dubbed “L'auberge des morts subites”, the title of one of his plays. The house stands as a memorial to the part of Felix Leclerc’s life spent in the community of Vaudreuil, and it symbolizes the creative legacy of a great artist.

The City of Vaudreuil-Dorion declared the house a heritage site in 2005 under the Cultural Property Act. In 2009, it was designated a historical monument by the Québec Minister of culture, communications and the status of women.

An association called the Société de sauvegarde de la mémoire de Félix-Leclerc piloted the project to restore the property with the aim of making known this important period in his life and ensuring public access to a site that is so inspiring for today's artists.

Centre d'histoire La Presqu'île

Vaudreuil-Soulanges regional archives

431 Saint-Charles
Vaudreuil-Dorion J7V 2N3
450-424-5627
chlapresquile.qc.ca

The Centre d’archives de Vaudreuil-Soulanges is the primary organization responsible for acquiring, conserving and disseminating the documentary heritage of the Vaudreuil-Soulanges region. It gives researchers access to documents of great value in the history of Vaudreuil-Soulanges, such as archives, collections, genealogical and historical reference works, and computerized databases.

Maison-du-Chanoine-Lionel-Groulx heritage site

A small farm dating from the late 19th century

This heritage site includes a house built in 1872, its annexes and some farm outbuildings. It’s located along Chemin des Chenaux, on Lac des Deux Montagnes, near the old village of Saint-Michel. It was designated a heritage site in 2005.

It’s of heritage interest for its historical value, based on its association with Canon Lionel Groulx (1878-1967), an important figure in the 20th century history of Québec. A priest, teacher, writer and historian, Lionel Groulx was born in the Vaudreuil parish of Saint-Michel in 1878. He was born in the house of his father, Léon Groulx, built in 1872 in the Rang des Chenaux. He spent his childhood there and received his elementary education in that rural environment, which influenced his thought and much of his work. In his book Les Rapaillages as well as in his memoirs, Groulx evokes the Vaudreuil of his childhood and his attachment to his peasant origins. His involvement and influence in the associative and intellectual life of Québec is widely recognized. He was the founder of the Institut d'histoire de l'Amérique française, an institute devoted to the study of Québec’s history. In 1967, after a national funeral, Lionel Groulx was buried in the Saint-Michel cemetery, not far from his birthplace.

The Old Town

The centre of the first village in the Seigneury of Vaudreuil

Old Vaudreuil is the centre of the first village in the Seigneury of Vaudreuil. Its streets and public spaces were configured according to an urban development plan dating from 1783 and approved by Seigneur Michel Chartier de Lotbinière. This jewel of a village was established on the recommendation of Bishop Briand, who had authorized the construction of a church on the site. Little could he have foreseen the historic role that church would play during the patriotic rebellions of 1837. Still today, Saint-Michel church is the centre of Old Vaudreuil. Over the years, it was expanded by the convent of the Sisters of Sainte-Anne and the village’s first school, now gone. You can admire magnificent Victorian mansions—symbols of the great bourgeois architectural styles—as well as American-style mansard-roof houses or French-Canadian stone houses, as you walk along Rue Saint-Michel, which once extended to the point beyond Chemin des Chenaux, where you could catch a boat to Montréal.

A stroll through Old Vaudreuil is like opening a history book filled with the memories of the nation so ardently defended by Canon Lionel Groulx… who, by the way, also lived on Chemin des Chenaux. 

Exploring Vaudreuil-Dorion

Download our brochure Partez à la découverte de Vaudreuil-Dorion (available in French only) and start exploring our rich and fascinating history. Discover Chemin de l'Anse, which was named best scenic route in the Seven Wonders of Vaudreuil-Soulanges regional contest. And be sure to visit Maison Trestler and Maison Valois, beautiful heritage buildings that are the pride of the City and its citizens. Not only will you find these excursions very enjoyable, but you'll also appreciate the richness of our community's heritage and culture.